## JOINT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2023-24

#### **Joint Strategic Committee** Membership is the Leader and their Cabinet (no requirement for political balance) No Councillor **Political Group** Worthing Borough Council 1 **Chair: Cllr Beccy Cooper** Labour 2 Vice-Chair: Cllr Carl Walker Labour 3 Cllr Caroline Baxter Labour 4 Cllr Sophie Cox Labour 5 Cllr Rita Garner Labour 6 Cllr Emma Taylor Labour 7 Cllr John Turley Labour 8 Cllr Vicki Wells Labour 9 Cllr Rosey Whorlow Labour **Adur District Council** 1 Chair: 2 Vice-Chair: 3

4

5

6

Joint Audit and Governance Committee (requirement for political balance)				
No	Councillor	Political Group		
	Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Cllr Dan Hermitage	Labour		
2	Vice-Chair: Cllr Mike Barrett	Labour		
3	Clr Odul Bozkurt	Labour		
4	Cllr Ibsha Choudhury	Labour		
5	Cllr John Turley	Labour		
6	Cllr Steve Waight	Conservative		
7	Cllr Nigel Morgan	Conservative		
8	Cllr Hazel Thorpe	Liberal Democrat		
Adur District Council				
1	Chair:			
2	Vice Chair:			
3				
4				
5				
6				
7				
8				

<sup>\*\*</sup> **Note:** Not more than one member to be a Cabinet Member

### For Standards matters:

Independent persons: Simon Norris-Jones and Lindsay Viljoen (1 vacancy)
Parish representatives: Lancing Parish Council (1) – Sompting Parish Council (1)

Joint Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Cllr Rosey Whorlow	Labour	
2	Vice-Chair: Cllr Margaret Howard	Labour	
3	Cllr Elizabeth Sparkes	Conservative	
	Adur District Council		
1	Chair:		
2	Vice Chair:		
3			

Joint Senior Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Cllr Beccy Cooper	Labour	
2	Vice-Chair: Cllr Carl Walker	Labour	
3	Cllr Kevin Jenkins	Conservative	
	Adur District Council		
1	Chair:		
2	Vice-Chair:		
3			

Note: Each Council must have one Cabinet member

### **Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee** (requirement for political balance) No Councillor **Political Group** Worthing Borough Council Cllr Cathy Glynn-Davies 1 Labour 2 Cllr Dan Hermitage Labour 3 Cllr Margaret Howard Labour 4 Cllr Richard Mulholland Labour 5 Cllr Hilary Schan Labour 6 Cllr Daniel Humphreys Conservative 7 Vice-Chair: Cllr Elizabeth Sparkes Conservative 8 **Chair: Cllr Heather Mercer** Conservative **Adur District Council** 1 Chair: 2 Vice Chair: 3 4 5 6 7 8



# COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2023-24

Cabinet, appointed by the Leader				
		Councillor	Title	
1	Cllr	Beccy Cooper	Leader	
2	Cllr	Carl Walker	Deputy Le	eader
3	Cllr	Caroline Baxter	Cabinet M	lember for Regeneration
4	Cllr	Sophie Cox	Cabinet M	lember for Climate Emergency
5	Cllr	Rita Garner	Cabinet M	Member for Culture & Leisure
6	Cllr	Emma Taylor	Cabinet M	Member for Citizen Services
7	Cllr	John Turley	Cabinet M	lember for Resources
8	Cllr	Vicki Wells	Cabinet Member for the Environment	
9	Cllr	Rosey Whorlow	Cabinet Member for Community Wellbeing	
Policy Advisors to Cabinet Members  These are not Council appointments; they are made by the individual Cabinet Member and advised to the Director of Communities.				
1		Cllr Dale Overton		Leader
2		Cllr Dan Hermitag	e	Deputy Leader
3		Cllrs Richard Mulh and Andy Whight	nolland	Cabinet Member for Regeneration
4		Cllr Helen Abraha	ms	Cabinet Member for Climate Emergency
5		Cllrs Cathy Glynn- and Hilary Schan	-Davies	Cabinet Member for Culture & Leisure
6		Clirs Margaret Hov	ward and	Cabinet Member for Citizen Services

	Dawn Smith	
7	Cllr Odul Bozkurt	Cabinet Member for Resources
8	Cllrs Mike Barrett and Ibsha Choudhury	Cabinet Member for the Environment
9	Cllrs Henna Chowdhury and Samuel Theodoridi	Cabinet Member for Community Wellbeing

Worthing Planning Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Cllr Andy Whight	Labour
2	Vice-Chair: Cllr Odul Bozkurt	Labour
3	Cllr Helen Abrahams	Labour
4	Cllr Sophie Cox	Labour
5	Cllr Samuel Theodoridi	Labour
6	Cllr Noel Atkins	Conservative
7	Cllr Russ Cochran	Conservative
8	Cllr Daniel Coxhill	Conservative

It is a requirement that Members and Substitute Members of this Committee must receive appropriate training before sitting on the Committee.

### Overview and Scrutiny Committee

(requirement for political balance)

No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Cllr Mike Barrett	Labour
2	Cllr Hanna Chowdhury	Labour
3	Cllr Cathy Glynn-Davies	Labour
4	Cllr Dan Hermitage	Labour
5	Cllr Margaret Howard	Labour
6	Cllr Richard Mulholland	Labour
7	Cllr Dale Overton	Labour
8	Cllr Hilary Schan	Labour
9	Cllr Dawn Smith	Labour
10	Cllr Samuel Theodoridi	Labour
11	Cllr Daniel Humphreys	Conservative
12	Vice-Chair: Cllr Elizabeth Sparkes	Conservative
13	Chair: Cllr Heather Mercer	Conservative
14	Cllr Kevin Jenkins	Conservative
15	Cllr Hazel Thorpe	Liberal Democrat

Worthing representative on the West Sussex Health and Adult Social Care Committee (membership is from the Scrutiny Committee)	
Cllr Cathy Glynn-Davies	Labour

Licensing and Control Committees 'A' and 'B' (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
1	Chair: Cllr Henna Chowdhury	Labour	
2	Vice-Chair: Cllr Richard Mulholland	Labour	
3	Cllr Helen Abrahams	Labour	
4	Cllr Mike Barrett	Labour	
5	Cllr Cathy Glynn-Davies	Labour	
6	Cllr Dale Overton	Labour	
7	Cllr Hilary Schan	Labour	
8	Cllr Samuel Theodoridi	Labour	
9	Cllr Andy Whight	Labour	
10	Cllr Rosey Whorlow	Labour	
11	Cllr Russ Cochran	Conservative	
12	Cllr Kevin Jenkins	Conservative	
13	Cllr Richard Nowak	Conservative	
14	Cllr Charles James	Conservative	
15	Cllr Claire Hunt	Green	
Substitute Member Nomination		Political Group	
	Any with valid training	All	

### Note:

Although two separate Committees operating under different rules, it is suggested that Membership/Chairperson/Vice-Chairperson are the same for both.

It is a requirement that Members of this Committee must receive appropriate training.

Substitutes are not permitted for 'B' Committee.

Requirement for Political balance is dependent on which Committee is meeting. Officers will ensure this is correct in each case.

### **Notified Group Leaders (Regulation 8(3))**

Labour Group - Clir Dr Beccy Cooper (Leader) Clir Carl Walker (Deputy)

Conservative Group - Cllr Kevin Jenkins (Leader) Cllr Elizabeth Sparkes (Deputy)